Geoff Thompson

Geoff Thompson CNZM

A Wellington lawyer; long-time small forest investor and manager; and minister’s representative on the ETS Review Panel. A foundation member of the Forest Growers Levy Establishment Board 

Elected Board Members

rgreen 2

Robert Green
Chief Executive Officer, Timberlands Limited
BComm (Econ) Hons

Formerly the CEO of VicForests (2011- 2016) and Director for Sales and Contracting (2009 – 2011), Robert brings to Timberlands extensive experience in hardwood and softwood, plantation and natural Forestry, as well as experience in primary and secondary processing, import, export and distribution. Before moving to Australia, Robert was a Divisional Manager for Snavely Forest Products in San Francisco, USA. Robert holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Economics) with Honours from the University of Otago.

 Ian Jackson

Ian Jackson
NZ Farm Forestry Association

Runs a 295ha mixed sheep and beef property carrying 3500-4000 stock units, since 1983 as well as a ewe breeding flock, stock trading and a bull beef operation. Has a diverse range of woodlots for production and amenity value. Graduated with a Bachelor of Agriculture from Lincoln College in 1977. A member of the NZ Farm Forestry Association since 1985, elected to the NZFFA National Executive in 2003, and has been the National President for almost two years.

 Bill McCallum

Bill McCallum
General Manager, Hancock Forest Management (New Zealand) Limited

Has been working in the forest industry since 1976 and is responsible for the operational management of HNRG investor timberlands in New Zealand. Prior to joining HFM NZ in 2004, held positions in operations management, marketing and acquisitions with Fletcher Challenge Forests Limited in New Zealand and South America. Holds a Bachelor of Forestry Science (Hons) degree from the University of Canterbury and an MBA from the University of Otago. Immediate past president of the NZ Forest Owners Association and sits on the board of the Wood Council of New Zealand.

 Paul Nicholls

Paul Nicholls
Managing Director, Rayonier Matariki Forests

President of the New Zealand Forest Owners Association, Chair of the NZ Wood Governance Committee and a foundation member of the Forest Growers Levy Establishment Board. A professional forester with over 34 years forest industry experience in New Zealand and Australia. He has extensive experience in both local and international markets covering both operational and management positions. He has been employed by Rayonier New Zealand for over 20 years. Paul was awarded the NZIF 2014 Forester of the Year at the recent NZIF conference.

 Phil Taylor

Philip Taylor
Managing Director, Blakely Pacific Ltd

Long-serving Trustee of the Otago Rescue Helicopter Trust, Chairman of Future Forest Research Ltd for six years

 Staeve Wilton

Steve Wilton

Managing Director and major shareholder, Forest Enterprises Ltd

A Masterton-based company that manages 73 forests for more than 6000 investors. A foundation member of the Forest Growers Levy Establishment Board